Stickshift - Skipping gears best way?

geep81

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Glenn
Vehicle(s)
2020 GT Premium
I am new to stick, and looking for input on how you do something.

If I am in 6th gear, and I want to drop it to 4th gear, would you:

1) Return the stick to the "center" position and then down to select 4th
2) "Drag" the stick along the grooves left of 6th and over to 4th

Before real practice with this, I thought it would make most sense to guide the stick along the edges of the gate to downshift.
In practice it seems like that it's easier and safer to return the stick to center first and then select the new gear (I missed 4th once and went to 2nd).

But I am not sure if with time/practice which is the best method.
Sponsored

jacknifetoaswan

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Race Red Mustang GT Premium Performance Pack
Initially, I'd say that you'd want to allow the stick to return to the center position (easier done with a good shifter, like the MGW), then move it into gear. Eventually, with practice, it'll end up being one, fluid motion.

JR

ugstang17

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
none
It's a developed skill. Don't use the 'braille method', learned motor skills will develop and you will find the gear with respect to the gear you are in naturally. Takes time.

Sit in the car and roll through the gears with clutch engaged and engine off. That is the best means IMHO of learning. then hit the road and start slow. Note speed and RPM when upshifting. Wind the car out to 6000 or 7000 rpm in a given gear and note what the MPH is. Any speed above that level is obviously not a good rate to be traveling should you desire to seek that gear in a downshift. The speeds for shift point will be different depending on gear ratio in the diff.

Have fun and just don't seek 2nd at 80mph regardless of what gear is in the diff.

shogun32

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Vehicle(s)
'19 GT/PP, '23 GB Mach1, '12 Audi S5 (v8+6mt)
Vehicle Showcase