Sponsored

Looking for compressor surge solution

GJarrett

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 EcoBoost Premium
MAP stage 2 block with NX2 turbo, CVF intercooler and catless downpipe, PD Tuning 93 octane tune dialed in w/25 lbs boost.

Under full throttle load, right after the boost eases off, I hear a single or double "chirp" that sounds like tire chirp but isn't. After feedback from others on this site and further research, I think what I am hearing is compressor surge / "turbo shutter". On the lower boost 87 tune it does not do it. I am seeking advice on a fix while keeping the tuned boost at 25lbs for maximum hp on 93 octane. We went through over a half dozen revisions and datalogs getting the tune dialed in, and I noticed the chirping started about halfway through the process at about 23 lbs boost.

I am not a turbo expert but from what little I know, I believe a BOV could fix it, but at the cost of turbo lag, which I am determined to avoid as much as possible. I've noticed a few discussions regarding the Go Fast Bits DV+ which seems to mitigate lag.

Would a DV+ also prevent the compressor surge? If not, how can I fix the surge?
Sponsored

ihasnostang

Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Vehicle(s)
Saturn ion, 2019 201A, EB PP1, Ruby Red
i thought something other than using factory recirc was required when using a bigger turbo. Here is a microphone infront of the air box outside the grille with all the factory tubing. you could try the VTA mod temporarily to see if that makes the problem go away.

5550snotamerc

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
s550 eco convertible auto
Do you have the stock, uh BPV (I think that's what it's called, I am new here)? Have you asked PD about it?

Buldawg76

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Vehicle(s)
2020 Mustang Ecoboost, Rapid Red Premium
MAP stage 2 block with NX2 turbo, CVF intercooler and catless downpipe, PD Tuning 93 octane tune dialed in w/25 lbs boost.