Drake

My 1st Mustang
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Lee
Vehicle(s)
15 Guard Ecoboost Premium
I have a friend of my dad that works at the dealership i picked mine up from, and he said that you can mod on a lease but would either have to return it to stock or turn it in with mods, unless you are going to buy it out. I have a lease and the only mods im going to do during the lease are the ford racing tune and a CAI.
Sponsored

JimmyTwoTimes

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 GT Premium
You must have had a bad experience with a leased car, no?
No, but I'm a lawyer and I read contracts and know what happens when you ignore their terms.

DarthLepard

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Ecoboost
You must have had a bad experience with a leased car, no?
No, he is right. It has nothing to do if the warranty will be honored. If you modify a vehicle from the factory specs you are "technically" liable for any depreciation because of that. That is at the manufacturers discretion. I have seen customers be charged for aftermarket wheels and tires instead of the factory on lease returns. It really all depends on how hard the inspector is at the lease end. But when it comes to leasing, not only should you think you will get ZERO return on any mods, but be prepared to come out of pocket for the mods you have done, not always but it can happen. This is from experience, not conjecture.

GT-T

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 GT Premium
I am leasing and will be modding during my lease term once I take delivery.

I will be financing at the end of the lease term so might as well treat her like she's mine now.

dabsevo

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Ecoboost Black
Lease to own: do as you please