Sponsored

AutoXing an A10 GT, what gear should I run?

CXRs

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
22 GT A10
Hey guys, as is my tradition, taking my car to its first autoX.

This is my first time in the Stang, but not first session. I'm calling all you guys with A10s and 3.15s, what works for you?

Car is stock at this point, down to the 255 Pirellis. My preliminary thoughts are to go for track mode so I'm not too hampered by TC, and leave the shifter in S so I can hold gears. I know that short tracks can really trip up track modes, so I'm plenty open to suggestions. My questions are as follows:

Should I use track mode, or sport mode? Or just go for normal so it feeds in the throttle a little smoother?

Should I go for D or S?

TC partially off, or hold it and go for broke with no stability control?

Car is a 22 with 3.15s, no suspension, stock 255s on the heavy blackout package wheels. Will be running ~39psi.

Suspension and shoes coming in the winter, this one is all about the driver mod.
Sponsored

EFI

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
5.Br0
S and use the paddles to keep in a certain gear. If you let it be in the auto mode (whether normal or sport) it's going to keep up and downshifting at the wrong times. The right gear is going to be determined by many factors only which you can determine at the time. Generally you want to be in the lowest gear that gives you traction.

Dana Pants

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Dana
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT PP1
At all times, the less thinking sand interfering with your driving the better. All stability control off. Manual gear selection only. You will figure out pretty fast what gear is appropriate for you.

Cory S

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Cory
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT Premium
39psi cold is too much. 32-33 COLD as a starting point. You will see about a 1psi increase for every 10°F increase internal air temperature in the tire.

OP
OP
CXRs

CXRs

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
22 GT A10