Sponsored

2018 EcoBoost Intake & Intercooler QUESTION!

GoranRC

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Goran
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang Race Red EcoBoost Premium
What’s up Mustang6G,

So, recently purchased my 2018 EcoBoost!

I’m very new to the culture and mods, etcetera, so I wanted to ask;

I know that the EcoBoost is praised for its’ “modding room/capabilities”. - I don’t want more crazy power, but wanted to hear your thoughts on...say, an Intake, and an Intercooler.

What are the Best of those two on the market?

Will it harm or hurt the car’s long-term wear or do anything to push the car more then it’s meant to at all? Will those two damage the reliability?

If I do decide to in the future, I’d want some small power, not a whole turbo upgrade. - But out of curiosity, is there a reliable way to upgrade a turbo? Say you got $4k lying around, and want to slap a bigger turbo. Is there a way to do so without causing the car to lose reliability/wear harder?

Thanks guys, I appreciate all of the knowledge!
Sponsored

FreePenguin

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Donald
Vehicle(s)
17 mustang
Vehicle Showcase
Stock intake is the best, with a drop in filter. Proven via dyno and testing, but I don't think it even matters. Like a couple hp difference, but an aftermarket CAI can throw out some nice swoooosh sucking noises.

Intercooler, any FMIC would work. I went CPE, you can't do any harm by tossing anything in there over oem intercooler, there's CVF or CPE for great affordable intercoolers, I wouldn't go oversized with anything bigger than the stock location intercooler mount. You can get turbo lag from the air pressure etc.

That said, I like my CPE intake. Lol looks sweet, and gives some sound under heavy throttle that I never heard with oem. since its fully sealed.
IMG_2554.jpg

OP
OP

GoranRC

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Goran
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang Race Red EcoBoost Premium