Batter Tender battery connection?

I Bleed Ford Blue

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Vehicle(s)
2023 grabber blue metallic Mach 1
I don't see how the BMS could be affected since the only time the battery tender is hooked up and charging is when the car is not running or charging. The idea is to keep the battery topped off during prolonged periods of storage, not keep the BMS module happy. As I stated before, I've been doing it this way since 2017 and my car is fine, no issues.

Topblissgt

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Frank
Vehicle(s)
2018 mustang gt
I don't see how the BMS could be affected since the only time the battery tender is hooked up and charging is when the car is not running or charging. The idea is to keep the battery topped off during prolonged periods of storage, not keep the BMS module happy. As I stated before, I've been doing it this way since 2017 and my car is fine, no issues.
Exactly. Ive been doing it since 2015 on my F150 and now on my 18 Mustang GT with absolutly NO ill side effects. Its just people overthinkinh stuff. The car is not running when the charger is on it and when you fire it up, the BMS starts monitoring the charge, so its no problem at all

HoosierDaddy

Threads
Reaction score
Winchestertonfieldville (ok, Scottsdale), AZ
First Name
Randy
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT Premium PP
I am not taking a stand on negative hook up BUT if the purpose of BMS is to maximize battery life and since battery life is impacted by LOTS of factors, there is no way to conclude battery life of any specific battery was not reduced (i.e. had no issues) if BMS was bypassed.