Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.cellentis.uk
First Name
Makis
Vehicle(s)
A 2017 miraculous little beast
So, I had my tuner add Transbrake to my tune. However I couldn’t make it to work. I thought that maybe this was my fault, as I ‘ve never used such a feature before on my Mustang or any other car that I owned in the past, so I have no experience with it. I might have been a bit hesitant while stepping on the gas pedal, knowing that this whole process can be a bit abusive to the engine and the transmission.

This is how I used it. I put the shifter on D, I braked the car with my left foot and then I went wot. At that stage the rear wheels started spinning and the rpm started rising well above 3100 rpm (this is the default set by my tuner). As I said above, I stepped on the throttle gradually and with hesitation rather than instantly.

I contacted COBB about that and they told me that the following crieteria have to be met for transbrake to work:

- Engine Coolant Temperature – at least 150 degrees F (65.6 degrees C)
- Transmission Temperature – at least 120 degrees F (48.9 degrees C)
- Maximum Time Allotted For Feature Use – 10 seconds maximum at WOT
- Cooldown Time Between Feature Use – 3 seconds

They also told me that transbrake can be used in any drive mode, however, they strongly recommend disabling traction control or ADVTrac prior to use. Additionally, I was told that it takes a while for the transmission oil temperature to get up there and that I should check trans oil temp preferably via my Accessport gauge. Finally, if the above criteria are met, it seems that I have to step on the gas pedal pretty quickly for transbrake to activate.

Another question I have is if the Accessport has to be connected on the car for transbrake to work.

I think it would be interesting to open a discussion on transbrake and how it can be used, as any input would be useful for those interested in using it with an OTS or a custom tune.
Sponsored

Janstang

Threads