Differential Axle Seal and Metal - 60k Miles

WolfMxbee

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Wolf
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Mustang Ecoboost, 2005 Ford F-150, 1995
Hey so I just got a 2019 Mustang Eco, I just drained the differential fluid and was pure black and this came out on the drain plug
20220910_160722.jpg

And the driver axle seal is leaking already only at 60k, I opted for 4year warranty but is this a wear item? Or can I fight it because the dealer should've done a full point inspected like they claimed? I am a Mechanic so if I have to replace it myself then not an issue but disappointed in the dealer
Sponsored

Basspro302

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 mustang gt
The metal corkscrew came off a lathe, i have never pulled apart a diff, engine or trans that had corkscrew shavings. Well at least not yet. Idk if axle seals are covered you would have to look through the warranty verbiage.

OP
OP
WolfMxbee

WolfMxbee

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Wolf
Vehicle(s)
I noticed after I change the fluid that the vehicle was slower accelerating like in a high gear but after driving it a little bit more I noticed the shifter feels smoother going into gears (manual) however it still Jerks a bit at low rpms but has improved, I am swapping out the trans fluid and diff fluid again soon but just waiting for my BG fluid to come in

OP
OP
WolfMxbee

WolfMxbee

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Wolf
Vehicle(s)