Sponsored

Critique my upcoming detail plan

BigChief

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
68 Coupe, 19 GT350
Hey all, I’m a bit of a noob with all these new products (I’m used to Zaino and wasn’t happy with CG Jetseal) so I want to make sure my process is on point. I’m going to detail my grabber blue 2017. I did a bit of research and have some experience claying and applying but not necessarily correcting swirls.

1. Wash car using 2 bucket method.
2. Clay using an Nanoskin auto scrub fine grade sponge and lube (not sure what to use for the lube).
3. Rewash using 2 bucket method.
4. Polish using Meguiars M205 to remove swirls. Not sure what applicator to use. Can I apply by hand with good results? I have access to a PC 7424.
5. Apply Jescar power lock with Adams yellow applicator pad. Buff off.
6. Apply 2 coats Collinite 845 with Adams red pad.
7. Maintain with P&S Beadmaker.

edit: after some additional research- I’ve now discovered Turtle wax and Meguiars hybrid ceramic sprays. Now I’m a bit lost. I’m looking for high gloss with some longevity... is the power lock and 845 still a good route?

2nd Edit- After watching some more videos and doing some more research I know Power Lock and 845 is a proven combo. I'm iffy on the Beadmaker due to longevity concerns, so i'm going to remove that for cost purposes. From a time and cost perspective I don't know if I have either right now to invest in pads and additional products to do a proper correction, so i'm thinking do a glaze after clay. The swirls aren't that bad and I can always do a correction next time around. I kind of want to try either the Meguiars Hybrid Ceramic Liquid Wax or CG Hydro slick (in bottle form, not spray). I also have a bottle of CG Glossworkz Glaze already on hand from my last wash and wax.

2. Clay using an Nanoskin auto scrub fine grade sponge and lube with a quick detailer or water/soap from wash.
3. Rewash using 2 bucket method (if needed, I was advised this would be unnecessary)