Gas fill up problem

chunter415

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Chris
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang GT PP1, 2019 F150
So I know this might sound like a stupid owner problem, but I’m struggling here and having an issue filling the car up with gas. I was attempting to fill it up today at Costco after setting the latch on the nozzle so it’ll fill up and stop when it gets full, it started to fill up then about 1.5 gallons in, it stopped. I latched it, and few seconds again same issue, continued about 6 times then after about 8 gallons I drove off. I’ve had the issue previously at the same station and a few others, but its only here and there.

What am I doing wrong, or does anyone else have the same issue? This is my first Ford so I’m new to this capless easy fill system. I’m hoping its something I’m doing wrong and not wrong with the car but at this point I’m not sure. I really didn’t want to ask for help filling up my car, but with this happening now several times I’m not sure what is going on. I have a 2018 Mustang GT PP1.
Sponsored

WildHorse

N/A or GO HOME
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
ⓇⒾⒸⓀⓎ ⓈⓅⒶⓃⒾⓈⒽ
Vehicle(s)
'17 S550
Vehicle Showcase
invert the nozzle and pump away.

Kinjirra

I R Slow
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Brian
Vehicle(s)
16 Ruby Red GT W/PP, 401a
Vehicle Showcase
Your using Costco...

I havnt had any real issues filling up..

Stop using Costco gas...leading tuners agreee

BmacIL

Enginerd
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Guard GT Base, M/T
Vehicle Showcase
Your using Costco...

Uh, no? Costco is not bad gas, at all.

Sponsored

s550_GT

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT
I have the same issue now and then and i noticed it happens when the gas pump doesn't full seal on the gas tank opening as its being pumped it then stop. What i do if this happens is press the handle so it starts filling and put up the tab so it pumps automatically then i just put pressure against the gas tank opening so it stays sealed. hopefully this makes sense.