Sponsored

2018 Mounting a Licence Plate

Chimpanzee

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang Fastback
Hello All, I am a newbie here and new to the Mustang. I am getting a bit of a runaround from my dealer regarding the mounting of the licence plates and I am seeking some help please from the ''brains trust'' here.
Basically I have slimline plates front and back and the dealer is wanting to use an oversized mount that is like a black bar on the front and something similar on the back that looks very odd and untidy.
I know Lakin plates has closed up recently but my question to all of you in the brains trust is how do you mount your plates to the car and what products do you use to make it look so tidy and clean like you all have in your forum photos?
Thank you all so much for your help and advice!
Sponsored

MUS550

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT
Hello All, I am a newbie here and new to the Mustang. I am getting a bit of a runaround from my dealer regarding the mounting of the licence plates and I am seeking some help please from the ''brains trust'' here.
Basically I have slimline plates front and back and the dealer is wanting to use an oversized mount that is like a black bar on the front and something similar on the back that looks very odd and untidy.
I know Lakin plates has closed up recently but my question to all of you in the brains trust is how do you mount your plates to the car and what products do you use to make it look so tidy and clean like you all have in your forum photos?
Thank you all so much for your help and advice!
There are a few options such as screwing directly to the car no need for an ugly bracket , double sided tape or some Perspex covers from auto barn

Drewbo

WTF?
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Drew
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT Fastback 6MT DIB
Vehicle Showcase
I suggest no holes and using 3M Command strips