Edgemere

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Edge
Vehicle(s)
2022 Mustang GT Premium
Greetings,

I have a 2022 Mustang GT Premium, manual transmission, 3.55 gears, non Performance Pack. I bought the car used last Fall with only 500 miles on it. It was a great deal, but I wish it would have come with the Performance Pack. Because it didn't, I will be totally upgrading my suspension this Spring, with shock, struts, springs, sway bars, front control arms, vertical links, rear toe links, and a bunch of BMR IRS rear wheel hop stuff.

I will not be going to the track or drag strip. I am a weekend driver in the Summer months only. My main goal is to get a decent suspension. One that should have come with my Mustang. My question is, does it make sense upgrading my Mustang with the Torsen Differential too? If I do this what else is needed? Would I need a new Ring and Pinion gear kit? I am just fine with the stock 3.55 gears.

Trying to duplicate the Performance Pack ala cart, which I did not get, would be way to expensive to do. That being said, what are your thoughts on taking it one step further with the Torsen Differential? Please advise.

Thanks..........
Sponsored

K4fxd

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Dan
Vehicle(s)
2017 gt, 2002 FXDWG, 2008 C6,
The torsen is smoother in the turns. To change it the entire center section or pumpkin needs to come out, then the internals need to come out. You can swap the 3.55 ring gear onto the torsen, then you need to set up the gears.

It is 12 hours book time to pull and replace the center section and probably another 5 hours swapping the diff and setting up the gears.

Easiest way would be to find a torsen equipped center section in a JY and just swap that. They usually have 3.73 gears. Still a pretty good labor hit unless you can do it yourself.

Strokerswild

Shallow and Pedantic
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Dave
Vehicle(s)
Things With Wheels