Tuning and Modes

buzzcii

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Buzz
Vehicle(s)
2019 GT Premium Vert
Sorry for the noob question, but I am a noob.

When I switch from normal mode to Sport or Track, am I using a different tune that's programmed already into the car?

If I purchase a tune, like Lund, will it change all driving modes?

Thanks in advance (TIA)

Buzz
Sponsored

bluebeastsrt

Oh boy
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
BigD
Vehicle(s)
Ruby red 2019 GT Premium.
No you keep all driving modes. You'll just have added power in each mod.

Regs

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustang 2016 Echoboost
If I am not mistaken, the only difference is how deep your gears are in Sports mode compared to regular driving mode. So your RPMs stay in the power band longer. Some tunes like Ford Performances give the regular drive mode and sports mode in automatic platforms a more aggressive shift schedule.

Drive modes are just how aggressive your gears are.

Chef jpd

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
John
Vehicle(s)
2020 GT PP1 6M, Grab ass lime. Ex: 2016 EB PPP CO
Vehicle Showcase
Sorry Regs,
Drive modes are purely electronic and affect throttle response and traction nannies.

They are not alternative tunes either.
So, if you get a tune, they work the same.

To test it, try a launch in each mode, and see how it feels.
Wet snow feels like you just lost 100 hp, normal is well, normal, sport sharpens throttle response, and track is sharper and affect your traction control.

OP
OP
buzzcii

buzzcii

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Buzz
Vehicle(s)
2019 GT Premium Vert
They are not alternative tunes either.
So, if you get a tune, they work the same.
Chef, can you elaborate?

If I put on a CAI, headers, cat/res delete and 3" exhaust thereafter, I will need a tune. Like a Lund tune for example.

My questions is, will all modes be affected by the new tune? Or just Normal Mode? Or does the new tune account for all modes?

Buzz

Oops, I think Bluebeast answered my question.

Sponsored