Sponsored

TRANSMISSION ISSUE. Ford Engineering asking me to put more miles on the car

Rizzy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT
Uh-Oh, I am a happy driver of an MT 2015 Mustang GT Performance Package. I took my vehicle in for scheduled maintenance earlier this week and to have the local Ford service dept take a look at an issue I've had with the car.

The issue is a strange metallic clicking/skipping sound coming from the transmission area when the clutch pedal is pressed in (could also be felt in the pedal) and also some difficulty shifting into 2nd and 3rd gear at times.

The local dealership/service representative went ahead and contacted Ford Engineering to which we were both told to "put more miles on the car" and if the issue was still there after a week, to take the car back in and remove the transmission. My car is at about 3,600 miles. Purchased in July 2015 with 12 miles on the odo.

I am slightly concerned because the car was doing this but very lightly when I first drove it off the lot. I just figured it would go away after a few miles, since everything was still new it would take time for everything to align properly and lube correctly, but it unfortunately got worse.

So now we will see, I am picking up the car tonight.

How costly is this? Does anyone have any previous experience with issues like this?
Sponsored

jasonstang

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 GB GT/CS 6MT
I you are hearing sound with pedal pressed in, it's probably a throwout bearing

daltron

Rowing All Day
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Jonathan
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT PP
How costly is this? Does anyone have any previous experience with issues like this?
It's under warranty, so not your problem. Do what they say, if it goes away great. If not, they'll diagnose and fix the issue.

OP
OP

Rizzy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT