Longtubes going on today...tuning question

degajake

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Jacob
Vehicle(s)
21 Mustang GT Premium 6MT
Excuse my ignorance as this is my first time dealing with anything besides some springs, wheels and a catback.

I have some catted sw longtubes going on alongside a Corsa sport catback today. The shop installing them is top-notch and has been wonderful to work with. I'm just looking for some opinions on the tuning aspect as we are not planning to fully dyno tune the car until I get an intake as well. All they were going to do today was essentially clear any codes that pop up.

Should I be adamant on just doing a full tune without the intake or will I be fine with just clearing the codes and waiting to do the full tune? I understand that there's no point in throwing longtubes on without a nice tune to go along with it but was not necessarily in a rush to get the whole car done in one go.

Thanks in advance for any opinions!
Sponsored

Zelek

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Vehicle(s)
2021 Mustang Mach 1
Keep your intake! It's one of the best ones. Just change the filter to a drop in and you're set. You will be just fine and the tune will be great with that setup. Save your money.

AZ18yote

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Bryan
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang GT Prem PP Magnetic
Keep your intake! It's one of the best ones. Just change the filter to a drop in and you're set. You will be just fine and the tune will be great with that setup. Save your money.
Yup this. Keep intake, add drop in, go ahead and dyno tune with the long tubes and enjoy. If e85 is available in your area then tune for that as well and enjoy all the extra power and cooling.

OP
OP
degajake

degajake

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Jacob
Vehicle(s)
21 Mustang GT Premium 6MT
Thanks for the replies! Seeing as most shops are backed up for some time, is it a problem to drive without the tune (again just clearing the codes) until I am able to get on the dyno?

NGOT8R