20ducks

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Greg G.
Vehicle(s)
2020 Mustang GT Premium Convertible Rapid Red
Vehicle Showcase
Going to change oil again soon. My neighbor asked me why I use Royal Purple Synthetic? I have been using Royal Purple for quite a few years. But, I couldn't remember why. Will someone help me with a good response?
Sponsored

SheepDog

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Dax
Vehicle(s)
Iconic Silver 2022 MACH 1 HP
Royal Purple was a better product when it first came out, but after they removed the Sinerlec, ZDDP, Moly additive packs due to catalytic converter issues, it isn't any better than all the other stuff you can buy at Walmart. They do still make a "racing oil" with those additives called XPR, as well as a street car version called HPS. Neither of which are "recommended" for vehicles still under the factory warranty.

Sponsored

robvas

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
It's probably not 'bad', but It's not cheap. I've never seen it come out on top in any of the different motor oil comparisons I've seen.

JetGray_Mach1

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Martin
Vehicle(s)
2022 Mach 1 (HP)
Most of the well known oils meet or exceed expectations of manufacturer. I stick to Motorcraft synthetic blend and never had any issues with any Fords. My previous Coyote ran to a healthy 130K miles, not burning any oil. I am sure some Oil analysis freaks will be swearing by different oils.

OP
OP
20ducks

20ducks

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Greg G.
Vehicle(s)
2020 Mustang GT Premium Convertible Rapid Red
Vehicle Showcase
Royal Purple was a better product when it first came out, but after they removed the Sinerlec, ZDDP, Moly additive packs due to catalytic converter issues, it isn't any better than all the other stuff you can buy at Walmart. They do still make a "racing oil" with those additives called XPR, as well as a street car version called HPS. Neither of which are "recommended" for vehicles still under the factory warranty.