Sponsored

2015 Mustang Base GT - what is needed to get through HPDE?

Bluemustang

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Ryan
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang Base GT
Honestly, what do I need to make it through HPDE? My initial thought is at least the PP radiator and wrapping the exhaust near the diff. I want to focus on first what I NEED to make it through without overheating such that I need to withdraw.

I have some on track experience via Trackcross/Tracksprint type events but I've never done continuous lapping. I wouldn't say I'm "fast" but I was at least able to finish well in my class and in the upper half of car lap times overall in the events I participated in. I will say I'm "OK" in terms of pace.

Here are the specs and mods to the car:

2015 GT (Base), Auto 6R80 Trans
- Added Brembo 6 piston
- 2018 intake manifold
- LU47 injectors
- JLT CAI open box
- Raybestos slotted rotors and street performance brake pads, 1200 deg F temp rating (I know I'll probably need better track pads and fresh set of rotors for them)
- Motul RBF 600 fluid
- Ohlins R&T coilovers (515F/800R)
- Front Control arm bearings
- J&M camber plates -2.5/-2 camber currently
- BMR rear camber arm adjustable.
- BMR CB005
- Steeda RLCA bearing
- Steeda Vertical Links
- FP toe knuckle bearing
- PP front splitter and ZL1 add-ons front splitter lip
- PP belly pan
- MRR M600 19x11 Bridgestone RE71R 305/30R19

I know most of these mods aren't relevant to the task at hand, but I wanted to list them for transparency and background. Cooling will be my main problem.

Does the 6R80 have a Trans cooler? Do I need one? Will I need an aftermarket oil cooler? Stuff like that. What should I do in regards to the radiator?

Thank you very much in advance. It is much appreciated.
Sponsored

Last edited:

RMoeslein

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Rich
Vehicle(s)
2022 Mustang Mach 1, 2020 f250 lariat Tremor