Steeda or BMR jacking rails?

mattshotgunk

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Matthew
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT
Which do you guys prefer Steeda or BMR? I have never used rails before so I am trying to decide which rails would be best. On a related note, can you place jack stands under the rail or should you just stick with the pinch welds?
Sponsored

scott6809

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GTCS
I went with Steeda

Which do you guys prefer Steeda or BMR? I have never used rails before so I am trying to decide which rails would be best. On a related note, can you place jack stands under the rail or should you just stick with the pinch welds?
I went with the Steeda and so far they've been great. I like being able to jack the vehicle up in middle allowing me to put front and rear stands under it at the same time.

I actually use a 6x6 and a 4x4 lumber stacked to get wheels off the ground for winter storage. I have jack stands that I use when I need the vehicle higher and I don't use the pinch welds, I place the jack stands right on the rail.

mikes2017gt

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
17 GT Prem M/T 3.55
[MENTION=25648]scott6809[/MENTION]: Do you have rubber bumpers on your jack stands? I'm thinking of buying some universal jackstand bumpers off Ebay for my stands.

I just bought the Steeda rails today for the reasons Scott6809 stated in the first sentence of his post.

Will be interesting to see what I have to do with the caulk on the welds. Have read quote a few posts that the rails won't lay flat without cutting that caulk off first, before mouting the rails.

OTOH, I've also read posts that say "I mounted the rails right on top of the caulk and just smooshed it down, no problems." I'm not sure if either one is the correct answer.

Guess I'll be finding out in a few days when my Steeds rails get here.

JackBauer

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Magnetic base GT 6SP