Advice: MY22 Order Book Closing Concerns

DandeeLioness

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Dandee
Vehicle(s)
2022 Mustang GT Premium
Hey gang, happy Saturday -- total newbie here and aspiring future Mustang owner. I come to you with a personal ordering dilemma and need some advice because I know my overthinking brain is going crazy.

TL;DR version: I'm planning to place my MY22 order (grabber blue, GT premium, 401A, PP1, B&O upgrade, 10SPA active exhaust, magneride upgrade) at the end of August this year for financial reasons that I explain more thoroughly below, but am I pushing my luck in waiting until then with the MY22 order books closing ahead of MY23 books opening?

Lengthy full story: I've decided I'd like to jump on the MY22 train so I can secure Grabber blue as a color option in case it is discontinued on the MY23 ponies. However, after learning the order books will open for MY23 in October, I realized I'd need to expedite my original plan to order closer to the end of the year. To be clear, I've never factory-ordered a car in my life so I had absolutely no idea how any of it worked until I recently found various resources online -- like this forum!

After some research, it looks like the MY21 order books closed on October 1st last year (for fleet orders, at least?), so I decided to plan around ordering toward the end of August to be sure I'd get mine in before the MY22 order books potentially close since that date it listed as TBD by the same resource. I've already spec'd everything out and have a dealer I'm working with that told me Ford usually gives them at minimum, four day's warning before order books may close, so if he heard anything in the coming weeks up to end of August, he'd let me know ASAP.