Sponsored

Tools what do you use?

Lexman

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Ruby Red Mustang GT Premium
I'm by no means a mechanic, but I am fairly handy and mechanical inclined. I have basic hand tools but wanted to know what brands/types of tools do you use to work on your car?

Seems like everything is made in China so hard for me to know what's good. Things like floor jack and jack stands are what I'm most interested in using but anything else someone feels is also a must have or handy tool, please share!

Sponsored

tcman54

Stanghead
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Terry
Vehicle(s)
2016 Ecoboost
Vehicle Showcase
jacking rails for the bottom of the car

breaker bar and torque wrench for tires

low profile jack from harbor freight tools

craftsman socket set

TC :)

OP
OP

Lexman

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Which floor jack do you have?

tcman54

Stanghead
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Terry
Vehicle(s)
2016 Ecoboost
Vehicle Showcase

Sponsored

wildcatgoal

@sirboom_photography
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
TBD
I have mostly Craftsman hand tools. Never had issues. I am selective about my ratchets (I like them with round handles) so I shop around for those and will pay more for those, but the best value 3/8 ratchet I have was purchased at Lowes.

My tool collection was built up originally to remodel homes (I do bathrooms on the side) and I got used to stopping at pawn shops if I happened to be passing one. There you can find a lot of great [probably stolen] tools that work just fine. That is where I got my torque wrenches from (Matco, Snap-on, and an old Craftsman). I also have a Lowes torque wrench I bring with me to track events - feel better losing that than a Matco/Snap). I've had them all inspected and calibrated by Team Torque, Inc., and they all work fine.