Sponsored

Track Mode and a Newer Track Driver

JN66

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 GT350R, 1966 Couple (347 Stroker)
Hey fellas -

I am relatively new to tracking my car - but I am addicted. Had a few days in and have a number more planned.

I haven't taken it out of Sport mode yet - is that a mistep on my part? Should I be putting into Track mode?

If I do, should I start slower than normal? Is the driving experience that different?

The reason I haven't yet is the couple of tracks I've hit haven't had any real forgiving run offs. Mostly walls haha.

Thanks for the insights.
Sponsored

TDC

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT350, 2019 Challenger Scat Pack Widebody, 2019 Corvette Grand Sport
Question I'd have is do you feel the stability control kicking in during your track time? If not then maybe push a little harder next time until you do. Also you may not feel it kick in because you're still developing a feel for the car at the limit. If it's the latter then I'd wait a little bit longer. If it's the former and you didn't get nervous from the feel then go for Track mode.

Track mode does provide stability control but it doesn't intervene until you really get the car out of shape. To fully turn off Advancetrac you need to hold the stability control toggle up for about 9 seconds.

BTW, throwing in a couple of autocross sessions here and there will help you to develop a feel for the car in a safe environment and with all nannies off.

crazyfish

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'16 GT350 & '14 GT Track Car
Question I'd have is do you feel the stability control kicking in during your track time? If not then maybe push a little harder next time until you do. Also you may not feel it kick in because you're still developing a feel for the car at the limit. If it's the latter then I'd wait a little bit longer. If it's the former and you didn't get nervous from the feel then go for Track mode.