Sponsored

Recall and Immediate Stop Sale on 8,026 GT350 and GT350R Models: Engine Oil Cooler

Hack

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustang, Camaro
I'm not an expert on ISO9000, but would imagine it specifies you need a proper Configuration Management policy? I'm an ME in the Aerospace/Defense business; not changing the part number, once a baseline was established and product was in the field, after a major design change would be unheard of.

My premise is there was no design change, only an improved inspection regime. I thought for a while that the reason it took so long for the recall to be implemented was that Ford was trying to figure out if they could develop an inspection process that dealers could use to examine whether the existing hoses were OK; only replacing those that were deemed defective, instead of all of them. Just speculation on my part.
I'm not an ISO expert either, but my understanding of ISO is that it requires a company to follow its written policies. I don't think ISO requires a company to change PNs if FFF change.

A revised spec or inspection procedure that alters which parts are accepted is still a FFF change.
Sponsored

HoosierDaddy

Threads
Reaction score
Winchestertonfieldville (ok, Scottsdale), AZ
First Name
Randy
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT Premium PP
I'm not an ISO expert either, but my understanding of ISO is that it requires a company to follow its written policies. I don't think ISO requires a company to change PNs if FFF change.

A revised spec or inspection procedure that alters which parts are accepted is still a FFF change.
I have no idea if ISO requires a new PN BUT I remember reading how GM got burned big time when they didn't change a part number when they replaced a part they found to have a safety issue. The courts decided that was effectively a cover up. Like crossing the street without looking, it may not be required but still probably a smart thing to change part numbers.

DrumReaper

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)