Upgrading GT350 base unit

04Terminator

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Cindy
Vehicle(s)
GT350 (sold); 04 Cobra (sold)
After reading page upon page of the two largest threads in this forum regarding upgrading base system, I got tired and I'm still a little confused.

I saw that there is an option for replacing the panel which is good. Yay. However, I don't want to keep the factory head unit if I don't have to. Is there an aftermarket head unit available at all if I could find a panel that could accomodate it?

I don't care about keeping anything Sync related...if I don't NEED it. I've hardly driven the car so I'm still learning things daily. But one thing I do know is that stereo has to go!

I've priced some Alpine speakers which I'm considering to pair with the factory head unit if I have to keep it, unless directed towards something else. I'm just familiar with Alpine and have had good experiences with it.

Any help is appreciated.
Sponsored

S550EB

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
15 EB PP MAN
Hey,

There is no aftermarket adapter kit to be able to mount an aftermarket radio.

there are a couple of options,
-have a completely custom system install in your car.
-retrofit a factory unit, I am not sure that anyone has actually completed one on a 2016
-Get one of the Tom top units,
The bad thing about them from what I read, the clock reads wrong and the temperature reads in Celsius instead of Fahrenheit.

The base sound system really bother me, so I replaced all speakers, build a custom sub enclosure n added two amps.
The difference is night and day :)
I have even compare my sound system to a "shaker" sound system w/ subwoofer and there is no comparison.
My system sounds 100 % more clear than the top of the line from factory.

note: at first I just replaced the speaker and it sounded more clear but it needed more power to be able to push the speakers.
The BIG difference was after adding the amps n sub.
I also added Dynamat to help w/ noise and resonance.

OP
OP