Sponsored

Procharger Stage 2 Install

Phils15GT

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang GT
I am wrapping up the Procharger stage 2 install with D1SC and race bypass upgrade, can't wait to drive it. I did run into a few snags along the way. Let me just say I am by no means a mechanical expert but I have installed a Paxton kit on my 14 GT and a HP twin turbo kit on my 02 Z06(both sold), so it wasn’t completely foreign.

I had a tough time getting the rubber 90 that comes off of the supercharger and goes to the bypass pipe installed without kinking. I eventually trimmed the rubber 90 too much and had to use a 3” metal elbow from the parts store so it wouldn't kink up. I am debating on purchasing another rubber elbow from Procharger and giving it another go.

Also, I am not too sure I like the way the intake pipe sits on the SC. It is jammed in there with the race bypass valve, no room. I installed the bypass valve as far forward as it can go to try and free up some space but still pretty tight. That rubber elbow took me over an hour to get on there. PITA!!! Can I just toss a small filter (do they make these) over the SC, or maybe a screen? If I do that, I plan to put breathers on the valve covers but what about the vacuum line that comes from the "Y" behind the manifold and T's into the other hoses off of the valve covers? Can I just cap that line off?

Another issue I had was belt fitment. The provided belt would not go on no matter what I did. I tried to get the belt started a little and then turn the crank in hopes it would pull itself on. Yea, that wasn't working either. The belt was so tight that it loosened the crank bolt when I was turning the crank to try and get the belt on. I went to Napa and bought a belt that was a 1/2" longer. Still a tight fit but eventually worked itself on there by turning the crank.