wind tunnels test

minjitta

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Vehicle(s)
2014 Ford Explorer
Does Ford do any wind drag on g6 yet?, with the nose diving front end g6 should have better wind drag number than the current model.
Sponsored

Grimace427

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2011 Mustang 5.0
Doing a quick search, the '10-12 S197 had a CD of 0.37.

Compare that to the Nissan GTR and Mercedes S-400 Hybrid at 0.26.

Mriley

attachment.jpg

They sure did.

Of course we wont' know the drag coefficient of the car anytime soon but aerodynamics was a big emphasis with the S550, from everything we've heard. It's not just the diving front end but the much larger and more open grille. Tho I believe air passing over the car would improve CD more than passing through it. For that, we have a more raked roof and fastback profile which I'm sure has helped. Although I'm no expert on this stuff. I know it's been discussed here by some members who are way more knowledgeable than me on the subject but I would think it has been greatly improved given all those design changes.

yanks1

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Tom
Vehicle(s)
2008 GT/Calif Special Vert
Of course they did! That's std operational procedure for any vehicle before final body & stance is approved these days. How far auto design has come last few decades, amazing

m4a1mustang

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'19 GT350, '19 XC90, '13 335i

And my 370Z at .29. Hopefully Ford can close the gap. The new car does look slick!

Sponsored

OP
OP

minjitta

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Vehicle(s)
2014 Ford Explorer

With the overall of S550 lower than S197 and diving nose, can't wait to the report of CD numbers.

Taneras

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Auto 3.55 GT
I was hoping for some good numbers, but then one of the design guys said they wanted the mustang's front to look like a fist punching through glass. Fists don't look all that aerodynamic lol.

OP
OP

minjitta

Threads
Reaction score