Brice80

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Brice
Vehicle(s)
2015 Ruby Red GT Premium PP
Hey Guys,

I've been reading that other owners of the 2011+ GT Performance pack stangs have started out in second gear, and lot of them do the skip shifting, 2-4-6 style shifting.
They say it doesn't hurt the transmission as long as you don't slip the lutch too much, and it supposedly gives you some positive fuel efficiency?

I've never done this before, and I wanted to see what our helpful 2015 community thinks. I've got the 3.73's with the performance pack and I ask cause my first gear is almost useless. However I don't want to damage my car at all.

Any advice is welcomed, as always.

Thank you,

Brice
Sponsored

n8rfastback

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 GT, PP, Comp Orange. 65 Fastback ,T5, 302
I never do, but I have also heard that people do it. I may try it eventually, but it does in fact take longer to engage the clutch, therefore wearing it more than normal take offs. I'm sure it's a negligible difference in the life of the clutch though

EXP Jawa

Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.torsen.com
First Name
Rick
Vehicle(s)
1999 Cobra Convertible, Electric Green
As long as you've got the available torque to get the car rolling without too much effort, you can start in any gear you want. My grandfather had a '53 Ford wagon that he put a Lincoln 430 in. He could start and cruise in top gear (it only had 3 speeds though). As long as you are slipping the clutch excessively, it shouldn't be a problem.

madweazl

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'19 GT350
Vehicle Showcase