Sponsored

Mustang Winter Driving

Siggy550

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 GT PP2
Okay, need some help/opinions from those of you who have specifically outfitted your Mustang with winter tires and driven in poor weather.

I'm looking at changing my daily driver from an AWD (all-season tire) BMW 335xi to a Mustang Ecoboost. This car will see snow and ice conditions as I travel for work (Interstate and highway mostly, so usually well plowed roads). I would absolutely invest in winter tires during the appropriate season. That, plus the limited slip differential makes me think I wouldn't have too many issues. Clearance is obviously the biggest issue for heavy snow fall, but I have an F-150 for those days.

Can anyone give me feedback what to expect for handling with that setup? Compared to an AWD vehicle with all-seasons? Overall, I think my BMW does great, but I've never used winter tires before and I've been told they would blow my mind regardless of drive train.
Sponsored

Bay1Stang

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Magnetic '15 V6 051a
I drove a 2006 AWD BMW that had absolutely zero issues with snow. The mustang with all seasons is a bit different. It's completely fine on light snow but wouldn't take it out in heavier snow. If you get premium you'll have the snow mode which limits your throttle for you. Without it it's not that difficult to lose control of the rear.

14MustangV6

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Ford Focus SE Hatchback
I would argue clearance is the only issue if you're buying snow tires. I don't have any AWD experience, but I've had absolutely no issues the past two winters and we've had numerous significant snowfalls.

For reference, we got over 12 inches of snow on Superbowl Sunday, and I had no issues getting to work the following morning before my neighbourhood saw a plow.

dgc333

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Dave
Vehicle(s)
15 Mustang Ecoboost Premium