Sponsored

Experience Driving 2015 GT Premium Rental Car

Baron95

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2012 Mustang GT
So.... I land LAX last night, head over to the Avis lot and see not one but TWO 2015 Mustang GT Premiums parked in front of the preferred isle in the "upgrade" section. One Red one Silver.

I go over to the clerk and ask "Hey can I have one of those two Stangs for no [additional] cost?" Guys says - "Sure, let me go get the keys for you - which one do you want?" I say "Bring me the silver one".

So, I head straight past Santa Monica to the Malibu hills like a kid with a new Christmas toy :)

So, first a bit about myself, so you can relate to my biases in my impressions below. I currently have a 2012 Mustang GT Premium Brembo with some mods (CAI+Tune, 1" lowered springs, Adjustable shocks, track pads). I am an HPDE instructor and occasional road course racer. I am deciding between a new Mustang GT or a Stingray Z51 Corvette (I know big difference). I was also considering the M4, but the price with options is literally double the Stang (so off the list).

So here are some of my quick impressions. Car attracts a lot of attention even in the dark. People took pictures while I was driving off Avis, and lots of double takes on the road.

First the fluff.....

Seats are much, much better as is the front cabin. Seat ventilation is as good as my Jaguar XF. Interior up front is a big improvement. The steering wheel is a massive improvement, but your 9 and 3 track grip still touches the hard aluminum, but at least it is flush now, vs the painful experience of the 2012.