Sponsored

Compounds & Polishes – The Path to Shiny Paint!

DFB5.0

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustang GT Fastback
I’ll be upfront here in saying that paint correction is a work in progress for me. Yes, I have been polishing cars for more than 20 years, starting off by hand before transitioning to an entry level dual-action polisher. In my earlier days, I would be using Mother’s California Gold Pure Polish with the classic yellow foam disk from Meguiar’s. My dual action polisher kit was from Waxit and came with a selection of Menzerna polishing compounds.

apr271.jpg

With no prior experience in selecting and then using polishing compounds, I was flying blind. As such, I just dealt with the massive amount of dust created and the difficult wipe off that accompanied those early Menzerna products. Funnily, despite not using them for almost a decade, I only recently got rid of those Merzerna compounds. I have no doubt that the modern Menzerna stuff has improved, but I sort of moved on to other brands.

IMG-1486.jpg

At this point, we need to talk terminology. At the risk of offending a certain subset, the term “Cut n Polish” is a very old fashioned way of describing the process of removing scratches and improving the shine of a cars paint. In fact, I find the term “cut n polish” irksome, but then I guess the same could be said about the idea of a “paint correction”.

You may also come across terms like diminishing or non-diminishing when talking about polishes and compounds -

The abrasives within a diminishing product will break down over the cycle, which in turn allows it to remove defects while breaking down as you work to leave a glossy finish.

A non-diminishing product will remain consistent across the cycle, meaning that the level of cut is the same at the start and end of the polishing cycle.

Both of the above have their pro’s and con’s, which I will outline as I go.