Sponsored

Aftermarket lugs?

galaxy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'17 GT350
I'll even add this, becuse no one talks about this when we talk about the lug nut torque on this car.

The torque for this car is not 150 lb ft...it's 150 + - 15.

That's a 30 lb window from 135 - 165 lb ft where Ford says the torque on the studs (assuming stock studs...throw that into the mix, LOL) is correct. Now, I'm no engineer (not that kinda engineer anyways), but for the slightly above average gear head/track rat that puts a half ounce of attention to detail into wrenching on their car, you'd have to try pretty hard to miss that window. Dry or wet threads, using the 10% rule, doesn't matter. If you put in the effort, you're safe. I'm not trying to downplay the topic, and not accusing you guys of making a mountain out of a molehill. And I'm certainly not taking away from the safety point of guys on the track trying to set a new land speed record...but I do think talking in such a manner where missing the exact micro torque by a pound or two means certain catastrophie...eehhh, that's a bit much. And that's all I got to say about that.
Sponsored

spiralbevel

Threads
Reaction score
Website
spiralbevel.com
First Name
Stepan
Vehicle(s)
Honda Ridgeline 2023
The torque for this car is not 150 lb ft...it's 150 + - 15.

That's a 30 lb window from 135 - 165 lb ft where Ford says the torque on the studs (assuming stock studs...throw that into the mix, LOL) is correct. ...
And, 10% reduction means [135-13.5 to 150-15] vs [135 – 165] original. Torque wrench +/-5% asccuracy shrinks the torque wrench setting window to [135*1.05 …. 165*0.95] or [141...157].

DSC08201.JPG

Last edited:

galaxy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'17 GT350
I apply it as such...150 is the target, -10% = 135. I dial in 135 settting on my torque wrench. Should put me back to an effetive 150. Even with any torque wrench tolerance, or variance on the 10% rule, I'm still safely back in the acceptable window.

Tomster