Sponsored

Spare Tyre Options for Australian GT

MC

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Race Red GT Fastback, due sometime in October
This is my first time posting anything, much less starting a thread (which I've nver done in my life before). I have been keenly following all the Australian threads over the past few months. One thing that I'm still confused about is spare tyre options.

I have ordered a GT and understand that you just get a hole in the boot where a spare would normally be, plus a can of foam to (supposedly) get you to safety - which is great, except if you have a blowout on the wall of the tyre (has happened once to me - scary), or if you are a long way from safety.

So, I see that Ford Australia is offering a mini-spare for a ridiculous price:

• includes tire and valve stem
  • Scissor Jack
  • Wrench attached to jack during storage
  • Retainer bracket with bolt and washer
  • Easy to install
  • NOT SUITABLE FOR GT
Part Number: FR3Z1K007C
RRP: $1,157 (inc. GST)*

But note: NOT SUITABLE FOR GT, which I assume is because you can't put it over the front Brembos (odd that the Ford site allows it to come up for a GT when you "build your Ford").

So some questions:
1) Could you still get this mini-spare and, if blowout is on the front, rotate a serviceable tyre from one of the back wheels to the front and put the mini-spare on one of the rear wheels?
2) Could you try to find a full-size spare that will fit over the front brakes (preferably the stock GT wheel)? Which begs the question of whether a full size 19" spare will fit in the boot space. Does anyone know?

I wonder, if the latter is possible, if someone who is going to change to after-market wheels might one day want to sell their original wheels individually as spares.