Sponsored

Traction control, breaking loose, and countersteer

15wile

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
15 GT
So being totally serious for once... I've seen too many incidents with Mustangs lately. And I'm starting to get a little worried, because I'm a pretty shitty driver, overall.

I leave traction control on. I don't turn it off ever. Never show off at car shows either. Also, I take it easier on corners than most. But I still break the rear end loose a lot when launching or downshifting on the straights for a little fun (it's a pony car not a granny car). If I feel the rear starting to drift, I let off the gas and keep the front wheels straight. Usually don't countersteer much, if at all. I wait for tires to bite, then go back in with power. This has never failed me. Never lost control.

Is this tempting fate, or pretty normal for everyone else?
Sponsored

Sheenapple

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mustang GT PP2
Then why get the v8?
I think you're implying that the EB isn't capable of doing this? Or the v6 for that matter?

As an EB owner yourself, you know you have more torque down low over the 5.0.

OP if you're a shitty driver as you say, but you know when to lift and keep the wheels pointed in the right direction; for the most part you would be okay. But I would say you're tempting fate. There's so many factors involved though. Alignment, cradle alignment, uneven tirewear, etc...

Generally when a car breaks loose in one direction the instinct is to whip the wheel the other way. Don't do that

crs2879

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT
You can find videos on YouTube of BMWs, Ferraris, Corvettes, Porsches, etc doing the same thing. The common denominator is typically someone attempting to show-off or racing in a powerful, RWD car.....Mustangs simply catch a lot of flack because they are affordable and thus more plentiful.

TruBlu16GT

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Darrin
Vehicle(s)
'16 Blue GT Base