Sponsored

Tipping Sensation During Hard Cornering (roll center?), SP080 springs, PP swaybars and Struts

TheLion

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ruby Red 2016 Mustang GT PP 6-MT
Alright gents, I've been slowly pushing the car harder on some beautiful empty country back roads (no drive ways, clear views, two sweeping turns etc.) and I pushed it harder than I have before recently. I've noticed some characteristics that I'm not fond of.

Now there's obviously a bunch of things going on here and multiple aspects of geometry, spring rates, damping rates etc., so pleas do forgive me if I'm incorrect as I'm still learning the fundamentals of suspension geometry.

During hard cornering the car gives me a sensation that it's going to roll over which I'm NOT a fan of. My suspension modifications are very conservative at this point and as some of you know I'm planning a quite extensive over haul based on R&D testing BmacIL and few others have undergone and proven out, but I plan to do it piece wise so I can work through the changes and see how they impact the car's handling (well that and it's much easier on my wallet).

I have a 2016 PP GT 6M. I do have a Power Pack 2, cat back exhaust and oil catch can and am running Mobil 1 Advanced Synthetic, so the 5.0 runs pretty strong and consistent compared to when it was stock, keep that in mind as it's making a substantial amount more mid-range power that it didn't stock.

I am running BMR's SP080 springs for the time being, stock PP sway bars, camber / caster plates, CB05 cradle lock out and FP outer toe link spherical bearings. So the back end and front end are nice and tight.

1. This has been on my to fix list for a while, Tramlining with my +33mm offset lightweight wheels from RTR. Does tramline a very small amount with the stock PP wheels I'm currently running (so I can burn up the P Zeros), but it's less noticeable because of the smaller scrub on the stock offset.