Sponsored

Shocks + springs vs ride height adjustable coilovers ?

antenox

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Michael
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT convertible
I'm weighing the notion of swapping out my car's stock suspension ('16 GT/CS Premium Convertible, no PP), and since it's my first time, I was looking at the full breadth of options available to me. I don't plan on tracking it, but I do like to take it out on spirited mountain drives here in California, so I'd appreciate a bit more performance-oriented suspension without ruining the ride quality.

I like the idea of having rebound/compression adjustment, but since I'm not really going to track my car, going full bore on $3k fully adjustable coilovers seems like overkill, whereas most of the coilovers in the $1-1.5k range only seem to offer ride height adjustment, and the "triple adjustable" ones for $1.5k or less scare me a bit because I've read that coilovers that are too cheap are a bad idea.

Since I'm planning to have a set ride height (~1-1.5" drop), am I better off just going with lowering springs and a good set of shocks (e.g. Koni Special Actives or Steeda Pro-Actives)? Or am I overlooking any good coilovers in the $1-2k range that allow compression/rebound adjustment?
Sponsored

shogun32

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Vehicle(s)
'19 GT/PP, '23 GB Mach1, '12 Audi S5 (v8+6mt)
Vehicle Showcase
There are no GOOD multi-adjustable coilovers that don't cost around 3 grand, IMO - RideTech, JRI, Ohlins, Cortex etc. I'm eager to see where the QA1 MOD series (https://www.qa1.net/automotive/suspension/shocks-struts-coil-overs/mod-series-shocks) prices when it gets released later this year (supposedly late spring)

200/800 springs married to Bilstein should be plenty good (https://www.ajusa.com/shop-by-brand/bilstein.html?find=2017-ford-mustang-gt--88405&sid=bSsXpdMtEh). You can get adjustable Bilsteins for $2600 $1800 (48-253901)