S197 coolant bottle stains on 4l v6

Bigjohn3

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
John
Vehicle(s)
Mustang v6 s197
Hi I know this is a different model but does anyone have any idea if this coolant bottle looks ok this 4l v6 2007 model.
Screenshot_20190310-231542_WhatsApp.jpg
Sponsored

Twin Turbo

Super Moderator
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Paul
Vehicle(s)
Mustang '05 GT
S197 expansion caps are prone to failure, I had to replace the one on my '05 GT even with less that 20k miles.

I'd buy a new cap (ensure you get the correct pressure rating) replace it and clean the expansion tank so you can see if there's any more leakage. The color doesn't look too healthy, but that could just be mixed with road grime, so difficult to tell.

OP
OP

Bigjohn3

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
John
Vehicle(s)
Mustang v6 s197
This is a car for sale I went looking at guy uses as a daily driver I'm more worried if it'last enough to cause overheating. Engine sounded fun up to temp nothing weird but I also could see the fluid level in the tank.

Twin Turbo

Super Moderator
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Paul
Vehicle(s)
Mustang '05 GT
Post a link to the advert if you have one.........I take it you're from Oldham in the UK? I'm also live in the UK, so may recognise the car in question or can at least ask on a specific UK Mustang FB group.

If the car ran OK and came up to temperature OK, I'd hope it'll be fine, but I can understand your concern. Did the oil look OK? Did you check under the oil filler cap?

OP
OP

Bigjohn3

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
John
Vehicle(s)
Mustang v6 s197
Sadly not yet checked the oil as it started snowing heavy and halted inspections. It's this one http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/254144484789

Car seems clean all paperwork and service receipts etc but that bottle worries me.

Sponsored

Twin Turbo

Super Moderator
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Paul
Vehicle(s)
Mustang '05 GT
If its local enough, I'd pay another visit.