Ride height calibration procedure?

Discussion in 'Shelby GT350 Mustang' started by Niz55, Feb 14, 2018.

  1. Niz55

    Niz55 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT350
    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Location:
    Us
    Posts:
    2,875
    Likes Received:
    737
    Rating:
    100%
    5   0   0
    Does the car need to be on the ground or off the ground?

    For some reason can't find it in the service manual.
     
  2. JAJ

    JAJ Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2016 GT350 Track Pack
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    Posts:
    381
    Likes Received:
    222
    0   0   0
    It's in the manual, in the suspension specs section, I believe. Anyway, it's measured with the suspension loaded, and the spec is the difference in height between the inner and the outer control arm bushings. It's not really ride height, it's control arm angle. In any case, keep looking - it's in there somewhere.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Niz55

    Niz55 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT350
    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Location:
    Us
    Posts:
    2,875
    Likes Received:
    737
    Rating:
    100%
    5   0   0
    This is all I find on the procedure.

    FOLLOW the diagnostic scan tool instructions.
     
  4. JAJ

    JAJ Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2016 GT350 Track Pack
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    Posts:
    381
    Likes Received:
    222
    0   0   0
    Hmmm. That sucks. Well, I'll be home tomorrow and I'll be able to pull up the 2016 CD manual and look at it. I'll post tomorrow if someone doesn't beat me to it. I was looking at ride height setup last week, so I know it's in mine.
     
    Niz55 likes this.
  5. OP
    OP
    Niz55

    Niz55 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT350
    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Location:
    Us
    Posts:
    2,875
    Likes Received:
    737
    Rating:
    100%
    5   0   0
    if anyone else can help me out with the procedure it would be grateful. I am installing my springs today so i need to know.
     
  6. TheDeadCow

    TheDeadCow Just some guy

    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle(s):
    Hot Rod
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    Posts:
    544
    Likes Received:
    316
    Garage Profiles:
    1
    0   0   0
    If you just installed springs you don't need to re calibrate the ride height.
     
  7. JAJ

    JAJ Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2016 GT350 Track Pack
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    Posts:
    381
    Likes Received:
    222
    0   0   0
    You're talking about resetting the Magride baseline. Sorry I misunderstood. You can't do it without Ford IDS and a VCM 2. If you have the tools, you just follow the steps and it takes about 30 seconds. As far as I know, you can't do it with Forescan.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Niz55

    Niz55 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT350
    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Location:
    Us
    Posts:
    2,875
    Likes Received:
    737
    Rating:
    100%
    5   0   0
    I have the autel elite scanner tool and I can perform the calibration.

    Here is the scan tool.

    What I don't understand is the RCHMustraisevehicle$1 IMG_20180215_161834-1024x768.jpg
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Niz55

    Niz55 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT350
    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Location:
    Us
    Posts:
    2,875
    Likes Received:
    737
    Rating:
    100%
    5   0   0
    I googled rhc and nothing.
     
  10. Offboost

    Offboost Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2018 JR101 Kona Blue R
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Location:
    Sin City
    Posts:
    410
    Likes Received:
    290
    0   0   0
    Ride height control probably generic for another vehicle model that has ride automatic height adjustment.

    I would make sure the car is at least half full of fuel and vehicle has been rolled enough to allow the suspension to be fully settled and is on flat level ground. That should be your nominal value that you would calibrate, you certainly would not calibrate the sensors with the vehicle off the ground.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Niz55

    Niz55 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT350
    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Location:
    Us
    Posts:
    2,875
    Likes Received:
    737
    Rating:
    100%
    5   0   0
    But why is the tool saying must raise vehicle?
     
  12. JAJ

    JAJ Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2016 GT350 Track Pack
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    Posts:
    381
    Likes Received:
    222
    0   0   0
    The message "RCHMustraisevehicle$1" is actually stating the reverse, which means that the vehicle must be on the ground with no people in it.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Niz55

    Niz55 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT350
    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Location:
    Us
    Posts:
    2,875
    Likes Received:
    737
    Rating:
    100%
    5   0   0
    Sorry for the confusion but how are you figuring this out?
     
  14. JAJ

    JAJ Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2016 GT350 Track Pack
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    Posts:
    381
    Likes Received:
    222
    0   0   0
    I've done it with IDS/VCM2. I got tangled up in the Ford version of that instruction until I figured it out. About five tries with the car on a lift with the suspension unloaded, then finally putting it on the ground, settling the suspension and having it work.
     
  15. FogcitySF

    FogcitySF Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    BMW E90 M3 | GT350R
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Posts:
    201
    Likes Received:
    130
    0   0   0
    Where can you buy this scan tool? thx

     
  16. OP
    OP
    Niz55

    Niz55 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT350
    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Location:
    Us
    Posts:
    2,875
    Likes Received:
    737
    Rating:
    100%
    5   0   0
  17. JAJ

    JAJ Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2016 GT350 Track Pack
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    Posts:
    381
    Likes Received:
    222
    0   0   0
    I got my genuine VCM2 (the official Ford service product) from an eBay seller at about $1400, and the software license for IDS is about $900 a year. With that, you can do pretty much anything a dealer can do.
     
  18. 65sohc

    65sohc Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2016 GT350
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Posts:
    679
    Likes Received:
    199
    0   0   0
    That's insane. For $1200 you can get the DSC Sport controller and totally reprogram the system.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Niz55

    Niz55 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT350
    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Location:
    Us
    Posts:
    2,875
    Likes Received:
    737
    Rating:
    100%
    5   0   0
    Well I use my scanner on lots of cars not just shelby
     
  20. OP
    OP
    Niz55

    Niz55 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT350
    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Location:
    Us
    Posts:
    2,875
    Likes Received:
    737
    Rating:
    100%
    5   0   0
    And how are you liking the control? What can you adjust? Rebound /compression?
     
Loading...

Share This Page