Sponsored

Prepping for Xpel Ultimate install

bmclaurin

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Ford Shelby GT350
Guys, total noob question here. I just took delivery of my brand new 2017 GT350 in Ruby Red stripeless. Next week I am having Xpel Ultimate applied to the front and entire hood. My question is what should be done to the surface of the paint just prior to taking it in for the installation? I was planning to have it professionally decontaminated, clayed, polished, and waxed prior to the Xpel installation, but then started wondering whether it would be better to *not* have a fresh coat of wax underneath the film. I'm almost embarrassed to have to ask this, but like I said, I'm a complete noob when it comes to car care. For over 40 years, I've been one of those guys that just runs my cars through the automatic car wash every couple weeks. Gonna try to treat the new GT350 with much more care and respect. So, any tips on what I should do, if anything, prior to the Xpel installation?

Oh, and here are a few obligatory, gratuitous glamor shots of the new ride. :D

(I had the roof wrapped in black gloss to match the rear spoiler.)

Sponsored

Labradog

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Jeff
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT Guard Metallic
Ruby looks beautiful on the GT350. I've never used PPF but I remember an Ammo NYC video where Larry applied Skin (his sealant) beforehand to give the paint some protection from the film moving over the surface as it is installed.

Blk2015GT

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 GT
The PPF will only adhere to bare clearcoat with nothing on it.

That's why the shop will spray it with alcohol before doing the install which strips all was and sealants.

You can wax or seal over the PPF (do NOT use a petroleum based wax or sealant though)

CVCashmere

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Carl
Vehicle(s)
15 GT Vert w/Steeda lower brace, PP sways & susp
Great Pics!

It's a lovely ride!

Love the black roof!