Globetrotter
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT350
Vehicle Showcase
This Sunday I was finally about to get my GT350 out on the track at the Nurburgring. So before I go into sharing my experience let make provide a disclaimer first:

I am not a racecar driver currently or have I ever been in the past. I have never taking any driving courses beyond Driver's Ed and Defensive Driving (got a ticket once). I have had ZERO track experience, ZERO autocross, ZERO, and ZERO dragstrip experience. I do not claim to know what I am doing or claim to be an expert. My number one goal was bringing my passenger, myself, and my car home in the same condition we left home in.

So now with my experience... Driving to Nurburg was really great and worked up some expectations as you get closer, you start to see some really nice cars. The parking lots at the gas station and the diner had millions of dollars in cars just sitting there with another million just flowing in and out the round-about.

I was lucky and managed to find a spot in the diner lot. I walked over and bought a couple laps "just to start". I wasn't sure how everything worked, and I had just over half a tank of gas and the nearest Esso Station was 30 mins away. So I felt 2 laps was safe for now. Got back into the car and started for the entrance.

As I started into the first series of turns they car ahead of me just starts pulling away. I wasn't too worried considering he must be a highly experience driver at the Ring. The first time feelings of track driving going through me were excitement mixed with a little fear of rearranging a rail or wall. I got through a few more turns and picked up a little speed as my nerves calmed down. Then out of nowhere a BMW followed by a Porsche flew by me. But hey, they are processional drivers right?