Sponsored

Newish to track, but need decent wheels and tyres, help?

Heretic404

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Pete
Vehicle(s)
2018 S550
Been a few times now and the PS4S aren't the worst but obviously far from great.

Looking at AR1'S but can't seem to get a tyre size i was looking for...

Does keeping rolling diameter matter?

Going to go for a full set of wheels and rubber just for track days.

All recommendations welcomr
Sponsored

rcsracing

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Rick
Vehicle(s)
2021 Mach 1 HP #1859
I'm not an expert, but my Mach 1 will be used for a track / weekend car.

Overall rolling diameter matters in terms of gearing - small OD will act like higher rear end gear (3.73->4.11), but not quite as drastic I think.

Here's a Grassroots Motorsports tire test by Andy Hollis - this is a great starting point. https://grassrootsmotorsports.com/articles/track-tire-buyers-guide/

thelostotter

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 GTPP
For track use Iā€™d suggest you go to a 19x11 or 18x11 squared setup with 305s all around. LMR and Apex both have affordable options.

I run 305/30R19s NT01s on the track which are a good bit shorter than the stock tires but itā€™s not a bad thing unless you are on a super long track. In which case the 3.73 rear end might be too short, but it works for me.

I think I will go to Goodyear Supercar 3 tires next, they seem to have a good reputation on these heavy cars.

OP
OP

Heretic404

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Pete
Vehicle(s)
2018 S550
For track use Iā€™d suggest you go to a 19x11 or 18x11 squared setup with 305s all around. LMR and Apex both have affordable options.

I run 305/30R19s NT01s on the track which are a good bit shorter than the stock tires but itā€™s not a bad thing unless you are on a super long track. In which case the 3.73 rear end might be too short, but it works for me.

I think I will go to Goodyear Supercar 3 tires next, they seem to have a good reputation on these heavy cars.