Sponsored

My frankenexhaust with GT500 mufflers and GT350 valence

sonicc

Mr. Bond
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT
Figured I'll share this here in case anyone is wondering how these mufflers sound or fit...

First just wanted to give big thanks to another member here [MENTION=16477]El_Centenario[/MENTION] . He was the one that has installed these mufflers before me and then answered a bunch of questions I had before starting. I was originally going to follow his footsteps and go with the Roush valence, but a GT350 valence came up on Craigslist for a good price and I just had to do it. I also found the GT500 for very cheap in one of the local Mustang classifieds group.

Now, if you're wondering about fitment...using the Roush valence would make this job 10x easier because you don't have to modify the muffler tips. Overall it took me 3 days of cutting, welding, and grinding to get everything to line up. Obviously, I've never done anything like this before so I'd say there's some learning curve to exhaust fabrication lol. I'm sure someone more experienced with proper equipment could knock this out in less than a day. I was looking into having a shop do this but the answers ranged from "it won't fit" to "it will be cheaper to just buy an exhaust made for your car". Had one Mustang performance shop willing to do the work at a reasonable price, but they kept d!cking me around too much and after being rescheduled for too many times I gave up. So what did I do? Went to Harbor Freight, picked up a flux core welder (yep...), and practiced for couple days before going at it. I'm one of those people who believe that just because a weld looks pretty doesn't make it strong...sooooooo....yeah :D

Anyway, before posting some pictures of the parts and stuff I figured I'll post a first start up with mufflers just loosely installed. Just a note I do also have an X-pipe that was previously installed.