LSPI A KNOCK ON THE NEWEST ENGINES 2/4/16

Kjewer1

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Kevin
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang, 92 Eagle Talon
The main thing I'd be worried about with the diesel oil is that the problem additives are allegedly detergents, and diesel oils amy tend to be high detergent to deal with the soot problems. Just a thought, I'm no expert on motor erl.
Sponsored

JWC

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 oxford white ecoboost 6 spd base
Are there any fuel brands that are preferred for maximum protection? Is there really that much of a difference between brands?

arghx7

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
50 years Ecoboost
Watch your boost at highway speeds when you climb hills. You can get it to 10-15 psi at very low throttle angle. Flooring it, punching it, etc has nothing to do with LSPI. Doing so causes a downshift (on autos) and that's good, since it raises RPM out of the danger zone. On a manual that's up to the driver I guess.

15 psi boost is likely to be around 276 ft lbs using 4 ftlbs per psia per liter as a conservative estimate, and that puts BMEP around 20 bar. ;) That's a ton of BMEP when you consider the low RPM where these engines can generate those pressures, and well into the accepted LSPI range. This can happen during perfectly normal easy driving with these cars.
I think we can agree that more load at low speed = higher risk for LSPI. I don't agree that boost in part throttle (defined here as not having the pedal all the way down) hill climbing is such a great metric to understand that though. The reason for this is that the VCT moves the cams in such a way that it requires a lot of boost to make torque, but that's done intentionally for the purpose of fuel economy. There's a much more detailed way to explain it but I'll skip it.

Requested engine torque will tell you more (need an AP to get that).

Kjewer1

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Kevin
Vehicle(s)