Sponsored

Im a big noob. Forgot to change the oil filter.

ALLSTOCK

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2012 Honda Accord LX 5MT, 2019 Mustang GT Premium PP2
Sooo uhh yeah..i drained the old oil, put in new oil, forgot to change the oil filter ☹

Its not the end of the world right? I only have about 7500 miles, and i last changed the oil at like 5k miles i think.

What would be the best move to replace the oil filter?

Get another 10 quarts of something cheap, drain, replace filter, refil oil, call it a day?

Is it catastrophic if i failed to replace the oil filter?

Thanks in advanced!
Sponsored

Ewheels

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Eric
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT PP1, 2020 Explorer, 2023 F150
Vehicle Showcase
Agree with above. It's not the end of the world.

If you're really worried, just do another oil change (with filter change this time 😆 ). Mobil 1 10 qts is only $50

OP
OP

ALLSTOCK

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Im gonna just ride this one out, and then do a proper oil change next time 😇

I dont drive very often anymore these days!

Thank you guys for the quick replies!!

Sivi70980

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Mark
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ruby Red GT PP1 M6
If it was me, I would go insane till I did the entire change again to include filter. But I overkill my changes doing it every 5k miles with full synthetic Royal Purple.

Sponsored

FruityJudy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang GT A10
Just change your filter as stated and move on. I know people who actually change their oil filter only and change the oil every second oil filter swap

m3incorp

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
James
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mustang GT Premium with Roush Phase 2, 2017 Corvette Z06, 2018 Subaru WRX, 2015 VW Golf, 2015 Ford Fusion