HPFP Failure, show of hands?

1QwkEcoBoost

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Shawn
Vehicle(s)
2015 Ecoboost Premium
2015 Ecoboost, only 12k miles. Not driven hard, no track days or quarter mile runs to date. 4k miles a year driven.

So on my second data log collection (3rd gear pull, 3k-6k) with my new tuner apparently my hpfp took a dump. Car felt weird and would stutter and buck when trying to make any kind of boost. Went straight home and waited to hear from my tuner.

I didn't know this until my tuner looked at the logs. Apparently the pump was only making 1600psi.

Luckily car didn't go ecoboom. It idles fine it seems.

So my question is, who else has this happened too? Who here has changed their hpfp?

I did a 3 day subscription for the factory service manual. According to the manual not only does the pump need to be replaced, but the high pressure fuel tube from the pump to the fuel rail. The flare nuts on the tube have to be torqued in a 3 stage process. Since those are flare nuts I have to get a torque wrench with a crows foot attachment.

People that have swapped the pump, did you change the tube, follow the torque sequences, etc?

Here is a copy and paste from the manual:

1. NOTICE: Make sure that a new high-pressure fuel tube is installed.
    Install the new high-pressure fuel tube, then install the high-pressure fuel tube flare nuts, the high-pressure fuel tube bracket bolt and the high-pressure fuel tube bracket nut finger tight at this stage.
  1. NOTE: Calculate the correct torque wrench setting for the following torque using the Torque Wrench Adapter Formulas.
    Tighten the high-pressure fuel tube flare nuts in the following 3 stages.
    Torque:
    Stage 1: 62 lb.in (7 Nm)
    Stage 2: 133 lb.in (15 Nm)
    Stage 3: 30°
  1. Tighten the high-pressure fuel tube bracket nut.
    Torque: 150 lb.in (17 Nm)
  1. Tighten the high-pressure fuel tube bracket bolt.
    Torque: 89 lb.in (10 Nm)
Any help or insight on this would be appreciated!