HOW TO: Add MyFord Touch/Sync 3 to base model S550

Discussion in 'Infotainment and Electronics (Nav, Audio, Video, Bluetooth)' started by zackmd1, Sep 4, 2015.

  1. Spart

    Spart Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT350
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Location:
    Iowa
    Posts:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    424
    Rating:
    100%
    2   0   0
    Counterpoint: I tried to give my money to Jesse for months. He stopped responding to my emails. He hasn't even visited this board since February. There are plenty of posts on his social media asking where he went.

    :shrug:
     
  2. X0AYHAM0X

    X0AYHAM0X Banned

    Vehicle(s):
    Mustang 2015 V6
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    118
    0   0   0
    Yeah he stopped responding to my email about a month ago...
     
    stang1971 likes this.
  3. HextallS550

    HextallS550 Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    Vehicle(s):
    2017 GT
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    Posts:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    471
    Occupation:
    Roush Engineering
    0   0   0
    If anyone wants help sourcing APIM and Touchscreens or ACM I have Car-Part Pro which has better pricing and for whatever reason displays more results than regular Car-Part. I'm seeing SAT ACM's for $75-150 and APIM's from $250-450 (Sync 3).
     
    Spart likes this.
  4. stang1971

    stang1971 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2018 Premium Plus Magnetic GT
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Location:
    kcmo
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    180
    Rating:
    100%
    1   0   0
    can you price me out a Sync 3 setup for my base gt? non nav..

    everything i would need please...ty
     
  5. HextallS550

    HextallS550 Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    Vehicle(s):
    2017 GT
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    Posts:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    471
    Occupation:
    Roush Engineering
    0   0   0
    [MENTION=21358]stang1971[/MENTION] I'm not a dealer, I can only provide you with contact info for the salvage facilities. I'll PM you

    APIM/Touchscreen
    ACM if you want SAT
    New Hub if you want CarPlay (AutoNation Ford $54
    Premium bezel with (find used) or without heated seats (AutoNation Ford $300)
    Program with Forscan
     
  6. stang1971

    stang1971 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2018 Premium Plus Magnetic GT
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Location:
    kcmo
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    180
    Rating:
    100%
    1   0   0
    ok thank you... are there any cables that my car doesnt have that i will need? i know the sat antenna, i already have one.
     
  7. technocrat

    technocrat Active Member

    Vehicle(s):
    Ruby Red EB Premium
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    NJ
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    0   0   0
    Looks like lot has changed since I last checked this thread.

    I have a 2015 Premium EB.

    What do I need to to Switch from my 'MFT with Nav' to 'SYNC 3 With Nav'?

    Thanks
     
  8. HextallS550

    HextallS550 Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    Vehicle(s):
    2017 GT
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    Posts:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    471
    Occupation:
    Roush Engineering
    0   0   0
    Just the Touchascreen/APIM and a new hub
     
    technocrat likes this.
  9. technocrat

    technocrat Active Member

    Vehicle(s):
    Ruby Red EB Premium
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    NJ
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    0   0   0
    Oh, how about wiring & harness? Is it a simple swap?

    Also I believe hub is only needed if Car Play is required, right?
     
  10. X0AYHAM0X

    X0AYHAM0X Banned

    Vehicle(s):
    Mustang 2015 V6
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    118
    0   0   0
    Plus a Fakra GPS antenna
     
  11. Spart

    Spart Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT350
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Location:
    Iowa
    Posts:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    424
    Rating:
    100%
    2   0   0
    Was going to say this. ETA: You don't need the hub if you don't want to use CarPlay.
     
  12. HextallS550

    HextallS550 Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    Vehicle(s):
    2017 GT
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    Posts:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    471
    Occupation:
    Roush Engineering
    0   0   0
    You also don't need a harness. I've never worked with connectors that are this easy to re-pin.

    I was going to do a video on this whole thing, but I'm still waiting on my bezel. I can make a quick vid tonight though. The amount of time to solder onto the male pins on the female connector isn't justified. The Tyco Generation Y connectors were designed to be serviced.
     
    jordystang69 likes this.
  13. technocrat

    technocrat Active Member

    Vehicle(s):
    Ruby Red EB Premium
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    NJ
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    0   0   0
    Thanks all for your response :)

    Oh the current GPS antenna wont work?

    Thanks for confirming

    A video would be great, I can do simply DIY but not stuff that requires soldering & all :headbonk:
     
  14. X0AYHAM0X

    X0AYHAM0X Banned

    Vehicle(s):
    Mustang 2015 V6
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    118
    0   0   0
    It's a direct replacement for you with some programming involved, you don't need to wire or repin anything (other than the USB hub) and you need to unplug your current GPSM and connect an antenna with Fakra connector
     
    technocrat likes this.
  15. HextallS550

    HextallS550 Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    Vehicle(s):
    2017 GT
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    Posts:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    471
    Occupation:
    Roush Engineering
    0   0   0
    My bad, I thought you had a base that needed re-pinned.
    For the USB hub you need a Tyco connector and some pins. I'm waiting for them to get back to me. Ford sells the WPT-1239 kit but its a rip off.
     
Loading...

Share This Page