Sponsored

How many people have have the slave cylinder fail?

TheLion70x77

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT Performance Package
Just this past Monday I had the clutch hydraulics let go on my 2016 PP GT. It's at the dealer and deemed a warranty covered repair under my 100k/7yr Ford Certified Used Power Train Extended warranty thankfully. The master tech is still tearing into it but suspects (as do I) the slave cylinder let go as he couldn't find any issues with the lines or the master cylinder down at the pedal.

Anyone else have similar issues? I've been scavenging posts on clutch failures for 2011-2017 MY (2018+'s have a twin disc clutch and dual mass flywheel) and it seems the slave cylinder is a common failure point, either that or the clutch disc shreds at low mileage. I've noticed absolutely no issues with slip or any clutch engagement symptoms (no chatter etc.) other than the pedal sticking back when I first got it a few times (when it was stock) at higher RPM's. As I drove the car more that issue seemed to go away.

I know the common fix is an after market clutch. But I've heard rumors that Ford revised the clutch for 2017 MY despite the car overall being nearly the same as it wasn't a re-fresh year. Can anyone confirm this or have PN's? I might bright that up to the dealer in case there is a revised part. Aftermarket would be nice, but I can't justify it right now since it's still a warranty repair. No reason the hydraulic system should let go at 30k period.
Sponsored

Jetnoise

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT Premium PP1, 70 Shaker Mach 1 stroker, 1967 F/B 357W, 1968 302 Vert, 4I 85 5.0 B&M Blower
Using factory pedal spring?

Kong76

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Ingot Silver GT