Ford factory speakers, omg!

Len

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Len
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mustang EcoBoost Premium
I just upgraded to new speakers (doors and rear deck) on my '19 EB Premium (9 spkr). I was floored when I saw the factory speakers -tiny magnets, paper cones. Pics below.. No wonder the system sounded so awful.
Audio guy also told me the door 6.5"s are basically set up as subwoofers, not midrange.

Sound has gone from awful to decent. Best its gonna get without major $.

I'm new to Mustangs, just a bit surprised and thought I'd share.

20201012_135735.jpg

20201012_135720.jpg
Sponsored

JJSSI

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Jim
Vehicle(s)
2020 EcoBoost HPP w/Handling Package, 2004 Boxster S, 2013 Jeep JK,
Vehicle Showcase
I'm surprised because the magnets in my 2020 EB Prem HPP 9 Speakers System (not B&O) are quite a bit different.
Stk Woofer 2.jpg
Stk Woofer.jpg

Last edited:

Gregs24

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Greg
Vehicle(s)
Mustang V8 GT, Ford Kuga PHEV
The B&O speakers are pretty good (except the woeful sub and centre speaker)Just upgrading the sub made a huge difference for me.

The 9 speaker setup is pretty cheap and not very cheerful

JJSSI

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Jim
Vehicle(s)
Vehicle Showcase
I just upgraded to new speakers (doors and rear deck) on my '19 EB Premium (9 spkr). I was floored when I saw the factory speakers -tiny magnets, paper cones. Pics below.. No wonder the system sounded so awful.
Audio guy also told me the door 6.5"s are basically set up as subwoofers, not midrange.

20201012_135735.jpg

20201012_135720.jpg
Is the woofer in your photo out of the door or rear deck? The rear speaker in my EB looks like the one in your photo but the one out of my door has a bigger magnet.

XS

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT PP