Sponsored

Convertible as a daily driver?

tea cups

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
15 WRX
Was looking at ordering a 16 Mustang GT convertible but was talking to someone who owned an SN-95 GT convertible and they said they loved the car but hated the fact that it was a convertible because of the constant road noise on the highway (top up). They said what was bad before became practically unbearable after they put a catback on the car. I haven't been able to find a 15 GT convertible to test drive around me so I was curious what convertible owners thought about this? Is the S550 quiet enough for a long daily commute or would it end up getting on your nerves? Any other downsides along these lines compared to the fastback?
Sponsored

MX5Racer

Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.rixclix.com
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT Convertible
Depends on what your used to. If you've been driving a Lincoln, yes it will bother you. I've been driving a Miata and Mazda-3 for 7 and 3 years respectively. Test driving the vert, I found it quieter than both. It really will depend on your tires and exhaust. Just research muffler drone before you swap exhausts.

And , oh yea! You CAN'T put the top down in a fastback! Go with the vert!

MustangS550

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Robert
Vehicle(s)
'15 Vert GT
Don't worry, the new convertibles are definitely worthy of being daily drivers. For a convertible, they are very quiet with the top up.

In my opinion, the '15 vert is more than twice as quiet as the '14 vert.

Maybe about as quiet as a mid-sized sedan was about 10 years ago. Maybe.

Redcruzer

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Chris
Vehicle(s)
2015 eco boost premium convertible, Ruby red