Sponsored

Ceramic Coating (Detail shop or by myself)?

got_stanged

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mustang GT Premium, Shadow Black, 401A, Performance package, Active Exhaust & Enhanced Security
Hi Everyone, is it recommended to ceramic coat from a detail shop or is this something I can do by myself in my garage? Any advice is helpful. Thank you. I have no prior experience in hand washing my cars
Sponsored

Labradog

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Jeff
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT Guard Metallic
Applying a ceramic coating is a last step of a detailing process (correct washing technique, decontamination, paint correction, then coating). If you’ve never even washed a car before then take it somewhere. Lots of good detailing videos online (ex Ammo NYC). Applying a coating is definitely something that can be done as a DIY, but you aren’t ready.

Jetnoise

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT Premium PP1, 70 Shaker Mach 1 stroker, 1967 F/B 357W, 1968 302 Vert, 4I 85 5.0 B&M Blower
Curious about this too. Local shop wants 1k.....not gonna happen.
Seems to be a good diy'r project for less coin and & quality 1 on 1 time ;)

Joe 5.0

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT/PP
Vehicle Showcase
Curious about this too. Local shop wants 1k.....not gonna happen.
Seems to be a good diy'r project for less coin and & quality 1 on 1 time ;)
That $1,000 also includes the wash, clay, paint correction, other surface preparation, materials and labor. The actual coating is the easy part. What you’re actually paying for is a labor intensive service.

Mrmarkmac

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang GT
Just did ceramic on mine two weeks ago, and came out great. My car only has 2,500 miles on it, so paint is practically new to start and no correction required, just polish to make it pop.

The prep work was the real effort. All together took m better part of whole weekend.

Wash with foam cannon and microfiber mitt.