Sponsored

Car won't start? I'm not a knowledgable car person :(

Hatter Shappy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT PP
Hey all,

First I will say that I did make the mistake of not properly setting the car up for the winter on a battery tender or whatever it's called. This is my first time leaving a car undriven for a few months up here in the CT winter.

So I went to start up the car the other day and to absolutely no one's surprise, the battery was dead. So I pulled the SUV around to jump it and when I hooked up the jumper cables, I got some power in the car immediately, radio on, etc.

But when I go to start the car, the lights dim and the dash started flashing and there was just a ticking noise. The check engine light is also showing but so are a bunch of other lights so I'm not sure if that's an issue or not.

I left the other car running trying to charge the battery up for about 20 minutes and even after all that, nothing. Just the same ticking but not an actual sound of the engine trying to chug to life.

Sorry I know very little about cars :/ anyone able to help a fellow out??

Thanks!
Sponsored

88lx50

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang GT convertible 6 speed
Are you using a good set of cables? You also want to make sure the connection is tight when you clip them on to the terminal and that there is no corrosion covering the post. It sounds like you are not getting enough power to start the car and if you are using another running car with no issues, the cables might be the culprit.

OP
OP

Hatter Shappy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT PP
Are you using a good set of cables? You also want to make sure the connection is tight when you clip them on to the terminal and that there is no corrosion covering the post. It sounds like you are not getting enough power to start the car and if you are using another running car with no issues, the cables might be the culprit.