Sponsored

Car feels like it's floating after new tire install

Dsmith408

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 GT
Afternoon Gents,

I'm a newb when it comes to wheel and tire combinations, so excuse my ignorance but I don't understand my issue. My car is lowered on Sportline springs and wheel spacers. I just installed some fresh 255/45 r18 continental extreme contact tires on an 18'' Rim. After searching many opinions the conclusion was this tire size is not an issue at all for this rim size. Upon taking the car home, with the pressure at 35PSI, the car literally was floating back and forth on the road, the steering wheel felt slightly shakey. The car got adjusted to the max PSI at 51, but the issue remained. I tried to explain that didn't feel like the issue at all.

1 ford dealership told me it was my '' electrical steering system ''. However, after being fed up with that ford dealer, it got transferred to another one 10 miles down the road. Only to have the service guy there tell me that the previous tech came up with his conclusion on a forum site. Was pretty blown away by that. None the less, I don't know how to tell these guys how to do their job, so here I'm for more opinions on what it may be. Has anyone experienced this?

Thanks -
Sponsored

NightmareMoon

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT PP
Vehicle Showcase
First off, what wheels & tires are you coming from?

NightmareMoon

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT PP
Vehicle Showcase
Ok, so similar profile tires and 18" diameter is what I was curious about.